Charming the Falcons: A Book Review

Hey, all! So, a little bit ago I completed Snakecharm by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes, the second novel in her Kiesha’ra series. I do not know how many of you got a chance to read my post in the past about Hawksong, but basically, that novel is one of my all-time favorites. It is an easy read, and for me, it was highly memorable as I read it when I was a high school student and always wondered how the rest of the story played out.

Snakecharm picks up fairly quickly after Hawksong with a very major difference. Instead of being told from my favorite Avian Lady’s perspective, it is shared through her Alistair/Diente’s eyes, Zane Cobriana. As can be concluded from the descriptive words of each character, they have the ability to change either into avian or serpent forms, which has caused the people of both forms to fight one another viciously in an ongoing war, resulting in major bloodshed for both sides. To make it worse, neither side can truly recall how the war began in the first place since it has been going on for so long. Wow.

So in Hawksong, the leaders attempted a last-ditch effort to end the war and save their people—uniting Zane Cobriana of the Serpiente people and Danica Shardae of the Avians. The two learn to make the relationship work, and it could technically work as a stand-alone novel. Yet, I was super excited to learn that Atwater-Rhodes continued the series. However, when I finally found Snakecharm, I was surprised to see how short the novel actually was. Even so, I was still pumped!

Granted, I love Zane, but I think he is a better character through Danica’s eyes. That aside, as you continue reading this novel, you quickly realize why Zane has become the primary speaker. The new threats and challenges presented to the couple must, for reasons I will not spoil, be handled primarily by Zane in Danica’s absence. The biggest threat arises through the involvement of the Falcon people in their affairs.

When Syfka, an ancient and deadly falcon, arrives in their land under the guise of searching for a deserter, the uneasy peace that Zane and Danica have been striving so hard for in the past is threatened. The Falcons are an enemy that neither nation could stand against—even united—due to their ancient magic and strength. However, the threat continues, causing readers to doubt some of their most beloved characters as they see them through different eyes.

I liked, but was slightly disappointed with this novel, perhaps because I had built it up in my head so much. Or it could be that a beloved character changed significantly. (I do not handle change well). However, I still love the storyline and look forward to seeing how Zane intends to solve the impending problems. I think, because I do not expressly enjoy politics, that I was turned off by the drawn political tape that binds Zane and Danica in Snakecharm. That being said, I feel like it was necessary for the storyline. Overall: 3 out of 5 stars.

Photo Credit:  Falcon – low pass by Rayand is licensed under Creative Commons License 2.0

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

