Prior Passions

Hey, everyone! So, I recently finished reading Passion by Lauren Kate, the third installment in her Fallen series. It is preceded by Fallen and Torment. I cannot remember how I came across this series. Most likely it was one which sparked my intrigue as I was perusing books in Barnes and Noble. Covers speak to me. (I know, I know! Don’t judge a book by its cover. But, it looked so mysterious!) Let us take a look at what this book is all about.

Title:  Passion
Author:  Lauren Kate
Release Date:  June 14, 2011

Publisher:  Delacorte Press
Genre:  Young Adult Fiction, Fantasy, Paranormal Romance

Length:  432 pages

Status:  Series (3/4 Fallen)

Sum It Up (from Amazon)

Luce would die for Daniel.

And she has. Over and over again. Throughout time, Luce and Daniel have found each other, only to be painfully torn apart: Luce dead, Daniel left broken and alone. But perhaps it doesn’t need to be that way. . . .

Luce is certain that something—or someone—in a past life can help her in her present one. So she begins the most important journey of this lifetime . . . going back eternities to witness firsthand her romances with Daniel . . . and finally unlock the key to making their love last.

Cam and the legions of angels and Outcasts are desperate to catch Luce, but none are as frantic as Daniel. He chases Luce through their shared pasts, terrified of what might happen if she rewrites history.

Because their romance for the ages could go up in flames . . . forever.

Let’s Review, Shall We?

As I recall, I liked the first novel in this series, but the second was not my favorite. It seemed slow, and I drifted from my attachment to the protagonist. Even so, I chose to continue reading the series, and I am glad I did!

This third novel stood out to me in the series, though, because it follows Lucinda (Luce) Price through an exciting and eye-opening journey through her past. AND WE FINALLY START TO GET SOME ANSWERS! I get really hung up on a storyline with mystery and questions that have yet to be answered. However, I also grow incredibly frustrated with a storyline that stingily withholds those secrets, drawing them out, baiting the audience. I hate it. I love it. (A prime example would be me watching Lost. I know. I know! I am waaaaaay behind the curve on this one, but somehow I managed to shield myself from the conclusion of the series, and I have to fight every urge to Google the answers to my many, many questions that surround it.)

And, yet again, I am so far off topic. Yikes! Ok. Back to the review.

Passion. Ok. So, the premise of this series is set around the war against Heaven and Hell and the angels that side with them. There is currently a…balance…of sorts between sides which must be tipped in one direction or the other. Why? I suppose it is to preserve the natural order of things and to put an end to an age-old war. I forget, though, to be honest. This tipping relies solely on the one angel that has not chosen a side, Luce’s love of her lifetimes, Daniel Grigori. In short, the two are destined to be together in each life, but just as Luce learns the truth of her existence, she spontaneously combusts, leaving Daniel in ruins until she reincarnates years later in another form. Strange, and more of a romance than I had expected. But makes for interesting reading.

At the end of the second novel, Luce has chosen to make a leap through an announcer, a shadowy portal-type creature, into one of her past lives in order to better understand her fate. Why doesn’t she just ask her friends or Daniel? Well. They shy around the subject, never fully answering her queries. So she takes it into her own hands to discover the truth she craves.

The entire novel follows Luce on a mad flight through previous life after life in which Kate must create world after world in different time periods—Russia, Italy, England, and many, many more. Each of these worlds intrigued me, and they created almost as many questions as they answered. So much so that each of these worlds, if expanded, could potentially hold story after story and book after book. Rich histories arose from each setting, and peering into each one was captivating and inspiring. I cannot imagine all of the separate research Kate had to undergo for the multiple time periods and countries. Awesome. But, it left me wanting more info into those lives.

Anywho.

Daniel chases recklessly after her, but he is always too late. The story is beautifully written, but leaves the reader slightly freaked out in the end as a large player enters into the battle for Luce, who is the key to forcing Daniel to finally choose a side in the war.

Overall:  4 out of 5 stars

image002image002image002image002

It was an interesting read, and I gave it a higher rating primarily for Kate’s artistic description of so many different worlds. Without the variety, I would have rated it 3 out of 5. Either way, she re-hooked me, and I have already purchased the last installment in the series.

You can purchase Passion through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or any other major bookseller.

Other Reviews:

  • Andrea gave an honest review on Goodreads, making important points about characters that I did not mention.
  • Joanne Lumiere gave an introspective review on her website.
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

