A Review: Experiencing a Challenge

Hey, everyone! I hope you have been having an excellent week! As I have mentioned before, I have had some down time before school starts up in the end of next month, and I have finally gotten a chance to progress on some of my impossibly long reading list. In this list (and on my bookshelf) was Experiencing God:  Knowing and Doing the Will of God, Revised and Expanded by Henry and Richard Blackaby with Claude King. A friend of mine gave me this book a while back, and I started to read it. However, life got crazy, and I unfortunately put it aside. I picked it back up, and though it was a challenging read, it was well worth it.

Title:  Experiencing God:  Knowing and Doing the Will of God, Revised and Expanded
Author: 
Henry Blackaby, Richard Blackaby, Claude King
Release Date: 
September 1, 2008
Publisher:  B&H Publishing Group
Genre: 
Christian Life and Theology
Length: 
341 pages

Sum It Up (from Amazon)

The Experiencing God ministry is even more vibrant today than when it began. As it continues to rise, and the world continues to change, the Experiencing God book has been revised and expanded with more than seventy percent of its material newly written. A modern classic that has sold millions of copies worldwide, Experiencing God is based on seven Scriptural realities that teach us how to develop a true relationship with the Creator.

Let’s Review, Shall We?

Sigh. What to even say about this book? There is so much to it, and I believe that this is one of those books that you can read and reread again and again and find unique information relevant to your life and various times. I wish I had tabbed this book, because there was so much that stood out to me. I will do my best to recall some of these revelations.

One interesting thing for me was that God is at work around me. All the time. That is interesting to me, because so often I think that I have to be doing something big in order for God to be working around me. How can God be present in my day to day life? With that mentality how often do we miss God working around us? How often have I done this? That is a disturbing and sad thought. Blackaby, Blackaby, and King (to be referred to as Blackaby et al for the remainder of this post) state, “After God revealed to them what He was doing, they realized they had been missing out on God’s great work” (Experiencing God, pg. 71). There is an entire chapter devoted to seeing God’s work around you, and it held significant importance for me as I am about to embark on my career.

Within the same chapter, Blackaby et al points out that just because you have a gifting in one area does not mean that God will not ever use you in another way (pg. 72). It is interesting to think that God will only use us in certain ways, because those ways are founded on our current skill set. It is an interesting thought, because where in the Bible does God ever really speak the same way twice? Did Moses see multiple burning bushes? Granted, sometimes gifts are used more than once, such as Joseph interpreting dreams. My, and I think Blackaby et al’s, point is that we should not be so close-minded in our thinking. If God wants to use you in a way that you do not particularly feel qualified for, pray about it. Get confirmation. But, perhaps, God wants to demonstrate His strength through you. The best part about it? You get to work alongside Him in His work. Anything challenging often reaps tremendous results.

Something that particularly spoke to me was in a chapter on a crisis of belief.

“This chapter focuses on a turning point necessary in your following God’s will. When God invites you to join Him in His work, He presents a God-sized assignment He wants to accomplish. It will be obvious you can’t do it on your own. If God doesn’t help, you will fail” (Blackaby et al, pg. 208).

He goes on to explain that most people quit here and that the “crisis” is more of a decision (Blackaby et al, pg. 209). We must decide if we are going to trust Him enough to follow what we feel He is leading us toward. Of course it is going to be challenging! Have you heard the phrase:  if it was easy, everyone would do it? Well, even if it is a cliché, it holds true.

For me, I experienced that all-too familiar feeling of being overwhelmed when I received an email with an approximate timeline for all of my grad school courses for the next two solid years of my life. An image of my 2011 self, swearing I would never go back to school flashed in my head, and I felt tempted to give in. But then I remembered that I believe this is what I am being called to do. On my own strength, no, I cannot succeed. But, with God in my corner, I can prevail. I just have to keep my eyes open to His leading. I’ve got this. And so do you.

These are just a few of the declarations and revelations that stood out to me during my time with this book. However, there are so many more. I encourage you to read this book in order to deepen your Christian walk.

All that being said, this is not an easy read. Do not take this book/process lightly. It is not one you can breeze through and finish in a heartbeat. It is a book that is meant to be meditated on. It takes time to comb through the contents. By the time I was finished, I felt as though I had missed more than I had found. There is just that much to the book. It will challenge you and push you out of your comfort zone. It will reveal things that were otherwise hidden from view about yourself, your Christian walk, and the role you play in the lives of others and God’s plans.

Overall:  4 out of 5 stars

image002image002image002image002

Any time that you have this type of book review, I feel as though you discuss more of what spoke to you or what did not as opposed to the traditional book reviews that I typically do. But, that is open to debate.

You can purchase Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God, Revised and Expanded through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or many other major booksellers.

Thanks for stopping by! As always, you can follow my progress on Goodreads! Can’t wait to meet you there!

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

